Dear Readers,

As we have all seen that IBPS RRB started asking questions from static parts of GK. So, we are starting a series where you will get important points from which the questions can be framed in the upcoming examinations. So, let us start preparing.

International Gandhi Peace Prize

a) The Government of India launched the International Gandhi Peace Prize in 1995 on the occasion of the 125th birth anniversary of Mohandas Gandhi.

b) This award given to individuals and institutions for their contributions towards social, economic and political transformation through non-violence and other Gandhian methods.

c) The first awardee of this prize was Julius Nyerere.

d) In 2014, this award was given to ISRO i.e. Indian Space Research Organization.

Indira Gandhi Peace Prize

a) The Indira Gandhi Peace Prize or the Indira Gandhi Prize for Peace, Disarmament and Development is accorded annually by India to individuals or organizations in recognition of creative efforts toward promoting international peace, development and a new international economic order; ensuring that scientific discoveries are used for the larger good of humanity, and enlarging the scope of freedom.

b) It was firstly awarded in 1986 to Parliamentarians for Global Action. PGA is a non-profit, non-partisan international network of committed legislators, informs and mobilizes parliamentarians in all regions of the world to advocate for human rights and the rule of law, democracy, human security, non-discrimination, and gender equality.

c) The first person to be awarded this award was Mikhail Gorbachev in 1987, he was awarded.

d) In 2014, Indian Space Research Organisation was awarded with this award.

Civilian Awards

1) Bharat Ratna, 2) Padma Vubhushan, 3) Padma Bhushan and 4) Padma Shri are the various civilian awards.

1) Bharat Ratna

a) It is the premier civilian award, to serve the nation.

b) The various fields are scientific achievements literary, scientific accomplishment, as well as the gratitude of community service of the highest category. From 2011, the Prime Minister and the Home Minister of India changed the qualified criterion to permit sportsmen for receiving the award.

c) This was first given to C. Rajagopalachari, Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan & C. V. Raman in 1954.

d) In 2015, this was given to Madan Mohan Malaviya(posthumous) & Atal Bihari Vajpayee.

2) Padma Vubhushan

a) Ranking wise the second award is the Padma Vibhushan in the Indian Republic. It awarded people from various fields including government service to distinguish extraordinary service for the country.

b) It was firstly awarded to Satyendra Nath Bose, Zakir Hussain, Balasaheb Gangadhar Kher, Jigme Dorji Wangchuk, Nand Lal Bose, V. K. Krishna Menon in 1954.

c) In 2015 it was awarded to, L. K. Advani, Amitabh Bachchan, Parkash Singh Badal, Veerendra Heggade, Dilip Kumar, Rambhadracharya, M.R. Srinivasan, Kottayan Katankot Venugopal & Aga Khan IV.

3) Padma Bhushan

a) The Padma Bhushan is the highest civilian award third in rank in the Indian Republic, and comes after the Bharat Ratna and the Padma Vibhushan. The President of India launched this award on 2nd January 1954.

b) In 1954, 23 were given Padma Bhushan and in 2015, 20 were given Padma Bhushan award.

4) Padma Shri

a) Padma Shri or Padmashree is the fourth award high in order in the Indian Republic, after the Bharat Ratna, the Padma Vibhushan and the Padma Bhushan.

b) It is awarded by the Government of India.

c) It is awarded to citizens of India for their distinguished contribution in several fields including Education, Literature, Arts, Science, Industry, Social Service, Medicine, Sports and Public Affairs.

d) In 1954, 18 were given Padma Shri award and in 2015, 75 were selected for Padma Shri award.

Sports Awards

1) Dronacharya Award

a) Instituted in 1985, the Dronacharya Award is presented by the Indian Government for brilliance in sports coaching.

b) This was first given to O.M. Nambiar, Om Prakash Bhardwaj & Bhalchandra Bhaskar Bhagwat. In 2014, this was given to Jose Jacob & N.Lingappa.

2) Dhyan Chand Award

a) The Dhyan Chand Award is the highest lifetime achievement award in sports and games in India and is presented by the Indian Government.

b) It was initiated in 2002.

c) It was firstly given to Aparna Ghosh, Ashok Diwan & Shahuraj Birajdar. In 2015, this was given to Romeo James, Shiv Prakash Mishra & T.P.P.Nair.

3) Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna

a) In India, the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award is the highest honor given for accomplishment in sports.

b) The award was initiated in 1991-92 to offer a highest national tribute in the field of sports.

c) It was first given in 1991-92 to Viswanathan Anand & in 2014-15, it is given to Sania Mirza.

Literary Awards

1) Jnanpith Award:

It is presented by the Bharatiya Jnanpith, a trust founded by the publishers of the The Times of India. The award was instituted in 1961, and its first recipient, in 1965, was the Malayalam writer G. Sankara Kurup. For the year 2014, it was awarded to Bhalchandra Nemade.

2) Vyas Samman:

First awarded in 1991, it is awarded annually by the K.K. Birla Foundation. To be eligible for the award, the literary work must be in the Hindi language and have been published in the past 10 years.

In 1991, it was given to Dr. Ram Vilas Sharma & for the year 2014 it was given to Kamal Kishore Goyenka.

3) Saraswati Samman:

For outstanding prose or poetry literary works in any Indian language listed in Schedule VIII of the Constitution of India. Instituted in 1991 by the K. K. Birla Foundation.

In 1991, it was given to Harivansh Rai Bachchan & for the year 2014, Veerappa Moily was awarded with this award.